How to delete your Facebook account

How to deactivate your Facebook profile temporarily from your iPhone or iPad

How to Delete Your Facebook Account
Many didn't even use password managers or their browsers' auto-fill-form feature, which could potentially trip up this system. This term is for that case if you change your mind and want to activate your profile again. Faecbook's answer to this question is as follows: Backup your data before deletion if you'd like a copy. What if I don't want all my content deleted, but I want to take a break from Facebook?

Deactivating

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

You can reactivate your Facebook account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Remember that you'll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log in.

If you can't remember your password, you can request a new one. If you can't access the email associated with your account, learn how to reactivate your account. How do I permanently delete my Facebook account? What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account? What if I don't want all my content deleted, but I want to take a break from Facebook? You can take a break from Facebook and temporarily deactivate your account. When you temporarily deactivate your account:.

Learn how to temporarily deactivate your account. Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information like your photos and posts from Facebook. After your account has been deleted, you won't be able to retrieve anything you've added. If it's been less than 14 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion.

After 14 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you've posted.

While we're deleting this information, it's not accessible to other people using Facebook. Can I remove the account of a friend or family member who's medically incapacitated? To fully delete your Facebook account forever and ever, go to the Delete My Account page at facebook.

Just be aware that, per the Facebook data use policy , "after you remove information from your profile or delete your account, copies of that information may remain viewable elsewhere to the extent it has been shared with others, it was otherwise distributed pursuant to your privacy settings, or it was copied or stored by other users. Some of your posts and pictures may hang around for as long as 90 days after deletion, as well, though just on Facebook servers, not live on the site.

If you want to notify Facebook about a user you know is under 13, you can report the account , you narc. If Facebook can "reasonably verify" the account is used by someone underage—Facebook bans kids under 13 to comply with federal law —it will delete the account instantly, without informing anyone.

There's a separate form to request removal of accounts for people who are medically incapacitated and thus unable to use Facebook. For this to work, the requester must prove they are the guardian of the person in question such as by power of attorney as well as offer an official note from a doctor or medical facility that spells out the incapacitation.

Redact any info necessary to keep some privacy, such as medical account numbers, addresses, etc. If a user has passed away, a legacy contact —a Facebook friend or relative who was designated by the account owner before they died—can get access to that person's timeline, once approved by Facebook. The legacy contact may need to provide a link to an obituary or other documentation such as a death certificate. Facebook will "memorialize" the page so the deceased timeline lives on under control of the legacy contact, who can't post as you , or if preferred, remove it.

Designate a specific legacy contact person to handle your account after your passing. Once you set one up, you'll get a notification every year from Facebook to double check that the contact should stay the same, unless you opt out of that.

You can also take the extra step of making sure that after you die, if the legacy contact does report you to Facebook as deceased, your account gets deleted even if the legacy contact wants the timeline to be memorialized. Eric narrowly averted a career in food service when he began in tech publishing at Ziff-Davis over 25 years ago. This newsletter may contain advertising, deals, or affiliate links. Subscribing to a newsletter indicates your consent to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

You may unsubscribe from the newsletters at any time.

Technology latest

Leave a Reply

If you don't think you'll use Facebook again, you can request to have your account permanently deleted. Please keep in mind that you won't be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you've added. A deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this time. It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your information isn't accessible on Facebook during this time. Some information, such as messaging history, isn't stored in your account. Log into Facebook to start sharing and connecting with your friends, family, and people you know.